Maxwell's Blog

Welcome

Hello friends.

My intention for this website has been and continues to be primarily as a place to share my artistic endeavors. That said, I’d like to make it a little more personal I guess. I began using neocities for my website solely because it is free web hosting and I’m a preschool teacher so I don’t get paid much (but hey at least Washington State is raising minimum wage to like $17 an hour next year). Since then I’ve seen a lot of personal websites that act as a kind of alternative to social media as that’s what mostly pervades neocities and I thought I’d like to do something like that as well.

Beyond just that, however, is the fact that my art is deeply personal to me. Most of the poetry I write, for example, serves to tell stories of my own life. Those stories may be caked in about seventy two layers of metaphor and symbolism, but with a few exceptions they are still stories of my own life. Oftentimes my artistic work is more representative of what goes on in my mind as opposed to events in the physical world and for that reason I thought it would be a good idea to let anyone who stumbles on my website get to know me a bit better. And if you’d just like to get to know me regardless of my art then that sounds great to me too.

I think at times I will tell stories from my past and at other times keep it current, but for the most part I’ll just let this blog go where it takes me. I can’t say I know how often I’ll update it, but I’ll try to do so regularly. I also believe that being concise is a scam so expect these posts to end up far longer than they need to be.