Maxwell's Blog

Novembver 17, 2022

Hello friends.

So this is my first real blog post I guess. I’ve never written a personal blog. I’ve had several excursions into WordPress by now but they were all blogs centering on a certain topic and not about my life personally. It feels kind of weird to write about myself honestly. I guess that’s the beauty of neocities though because if anyone wants to read these they will and if not they can pass by perfectly easily.

So I guess I’ll just start with the present. Work has been pretty stressful this week. I teach the 4 and 5 year old class in a preschool and overall I love my job a lot, but some days (which occasionally turn into whole weeks) are very bad. Recently our fire alarm has been going off as a false alarm quite frequently. When that happens the fire station is alerted automatically and now the fire marshal is very upset with us. It sounds like she was cordial when she was here a few days ago, but she essentially threatened to have us shut down if the false alarms don’t stop, and yet we can’t pinpoint what’s causing them to happen.

On top of that, there is a CPS case involving one of the children in my class. For obvious reasons I cannot go into detail on that. In case anyone doesn’t know, CPS stands for Child Protective Services and refers to the government offices that investigate child abuse and neglect. I think each state has their own department relating to abuse and neglect but collectively they are referred to as CPS. These cases don't happen very often at work but I do not deal well with them when they do. All day yesterday I was pushing back tears despite not being someone who cries easily.

But with the bad shit out of the way, I’ll mention the good things in my life now.

I have a lot going for me right now. The fact that I work where I do, although this week has been stressful so far, is a great thing because my last job was just awful. It was the worst job I’ve ever had by far, but I like to remember the fact that I’m in a great place now rather than focus on the past. I worked at the center I’m in now part time before leaving for a full time job, so when I saw there was a full time position open here I jumped at the chance and I am much happier now.

Aside from work, I’ve been happy because I recently got another cat. My orange cat George had been really sad and at times pretty depressed since our older cat passed away. She was 18 and George had been with her his entire life so he needed a new friend. Two friends of mine had adopted a kitten and named her Dahlia, but one of them turned out to be allergic and they had to give her back to the person they got her from. After that, my other friend adopted Dahlia so the two friends could still see her. That home didn’t work out either, however, because there were already two cats and one of them didn’t like Dahlia, so I got to take her. Now Dahlia and George are great friends. Me and the cats are all very happy with how it turned out and all my friends who had Dahlia at various points are able to come visit her.

There’s one thing in my life though that I think I’m most excited about. It’s new so it’s hard to say how things will turn out at this point, but signs point to it being a great thing. Several months ago now I went on a date with a guy I met on Tinder. I was nervous like I always am on first dates. I think everyone gets nervous in that kind of situation, but I have struggled with anxiety for my whole life and for me that means in part that social situations can be very difficult even when I enjoy them.

I had been messaging this guy on Tinder for a few days and finally asked if he wanted to go out sometime. He lives about 45 minutes from me so I expected to wait a few days before we could meet, but to my surprise he asked if I wanted to go to the movies that night and he would drive up to a theater close to me. I said yes and was glad that I would only need to panic for a few hours before the date as opposed to a few days.

We saw Nope by Jordan Peele (which is fantastic by the way) and then went to a little park by the theater to sit on a bench and talk. We talked for quite awhile. He told me about a lot of his favorite shows and movies. On our second date I drove to him and we went to a park again and he talked about Magic The Gathering. I don’t know anything about Magic but I love listening to him talk about it because it’s easy to hear the genuine interest.

We dated for awhile before he asked me to be his boyfriend. I was nervous to rush into things after my last relationship and I’m grateful that he didn’t try to rush anything either. I like him a lot so I said yes. I’m really happy with the way things have turned out. As I said it’s hard to know what the future holds, but things seem promising.

This weekend I’d like to go out and take some pictures with my Instax camera. I bought my Instax Mini 11 around six months ago, put it in the trunk of my car, forgot I put it in the trunk of my car, and looked for it everywhere for about six months. I finally found it very recently and I’m excited to use it more. I’ve been taking some pictures around my apartment today and it’s been fun. I’m writing all this before creating the page on my site that will host the blog, but if I can make it work I’ll include a few of my Instax pictures on this post.

I suppose that’s all for today. Thanks to anyone who has read this and continues to read my blog in the future.

Until next time.